5 Tips For The Shy Introvert

Why is it that we’re made to believe that extroverts tend to be more successful? I’m tired of being made to believe that there is no chance for the rest of us introverts. What is wrong with wanting to occupy my mental space all by myself? I hate putting on my social masks to pop a conversation out of thin air.

“Hey hows it going? the weather seems cloudy right?…” (Awkward pause)

“In a gentle way, you can shake the world.” Gandhi, Mahatma
“In a gentle way, you can shake the world.” Gandhi, Mahatma

What options do I have anyway? I think and talk in my mind too much.

  • Who’s going to save this world?
  • Will there be an Armageddon anytime soon? This Friday?
  • Why am I not successful yet? What haven’t I done? or what have I done too much?

I was never lucky enough to talk to a saint or a holy being that answered all my problems. However I do have the  luxury of having a world of sounds, feelings, questions going on inside my mind. I have never liked the rationale approach to things. Common sense wasn’t very helpful either.

The best I did was to write and communicate my thoughts on paper. In hope that my message gets communicated to you for you to imagine a world where we can thrive.  My proposed solution to you from my personal experience for growing through my shyness was to start:

  1. Believing that my life was destined for greatness.
  2. Do crazy things that I’ll be proud of in the future.
  3. Grab the mic and talk my heart to the public.
  4. Listen within and observe some profound conversations.
  5. Have a friend to share my issues to be a decent introvert.
3 thoughts on “5 Tips For The Shy Introvert

  1. Nice post. I am an introvert, but I am not shy. I don’t believe the two necessarily go hand in hand. You might also check out this article from the Huffington Post: Introverts are hardly a bunch of shy wallflowers — they are proven leaders who can make great public speakers. Don’t believe us? Check out the list of 16 prominent introverts below. Keep in mind, too, that the famous faces listed below comprise just a drop in the bucket — the list of famous introverts also often includes Michael Jordan, Gwyneth Paltrow, Harrison Ford, Charles Darwin and David Letterman, among many others. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/13/famous-introverts_n_3733400.html

    1. Thank you, Interesting insight. Lucky you, Im quite shy and need solitude constantly.
      I love meeting and talking to profound people though.
      Wish i can be famous like the people you mentioned 🙂

      1. I need solitude, but I am not nervous or timid when in the company of others. I feel drained from group situations and do not feel drawn to enjoy them at all, it’s more of something to get through or avoid 😉 But, I have no problem being a host, teacher or speaker. If being famous would make you happy, go for it, nothing should hold you back.

Leave a Reply

